MCI Map Making Guide

Product

Hello all. You may not know me, but I played a little bit of the original MCI and a lot of MCI 2.0. I have made my fair share of maps, and feel like I have a lot of knowledge that should be passed on to the rest of the MCI playerbase, especially those looking to build maps for the server. (That aren’t cod remakes)

I’m going to start this off with clearing up some of the vocabulary when it comes to building maps:

Vocab List

• Map Flow: This refers to how infected move throughout the level.

• Point of interest: The different places on the map

• Map Anatomy: What the different points of interest in a map are

• Left Bias: No this is NOT political. Left bias explains how people naturally will go left in a multiplayer map. This happens because we read left to right.

Many of my maps have never even seen the light of day. I spent a lot of time pondering these map designs and trying to see how the map flow would work. This led me to discover the 3 core map principles.

The Three Core Map Principles

The three core map principles are the following: simple, small, flat

At first, these principles sound counterintuitive. How can a fun map be simple, small, and flat? To answer these questions, I am going to split up the 3 principles and explain why they lead to a great map.

Simple

At first, this map principle sounds bad. How could a simple map be fun, if there isn’t a lot of small little nooks to discover? If there is no complex design of branching buildings and secret spots? What about web spots? Parkour spots?

At first I will concede. If MCI had only 2-3 maps, more complex maps would be necessary. However, MCI has more than 3 maps, and will constantly be adding more. Therefore, maps need to be easy to pick up and understand.